Wickedly Simple Meatloaf

July 26, 2008 at 4:29 am (Recipes)

Since everyone who knows me knows that I love not only cooking but sharing my creations with anyone who will listen, here’s an offering for those of you short on time but looking for something a bit better than Hamburger Helper (not that I’m knocking HH; we’ve all had those nights where nothing else will do). The picture is NOT the finest example of my culinary abilites (or photographic for that matter) but this Wickedly Simple Meatloaf is both tasty and budget- friendly. 

Frosted with mashed potatos and flavoured with basic staples in most Canuck kitchens, this will do the trick if you need to whip something up on the fly. It has received the thumbs-up from both my Spawn, both of whom happen to be fairly picky eaters. 

Enjoy

  Wickedly Simple Meatloaf

Ingredients:

Loaf:

1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef

1 large egg

1/3 cup prepared barbecue sauce

1 packet dry onion soup mix 

 

Potatos:

6 medium potatos, peeled and halved

1/4 cup butter or margarine

1 tsp salt

1/2 cup shredded cheddar/ monterey jack blend cheese

 

Directions:

 

Preheat oven to 350 C. 

Bring a large pot of water to boil; add potatos and cook over med-high heat until soft and ready to mash. I like my potatos well cooked; the only part of a potato I like crunchy is the skin and those are looong gone at this point in the recipe.

Drain and add butter or margarine and salt; mash well and set aside. 

In a medium mixing bowl combine egg, dry soup mix and barbecue sauce. Mix well, and then add ground beef. Using a wooden spoon mix until well blended. What I like to is just dump the whole mess into a loaf pan; I find it makes draining the fat off later on much easier. But if you like, you can line a shallow baking dish with foil and shape your meat into a loaf. It’s totally up to you. 

Once you figure out which way to go the next step is to frost the meatloaf with the mashed potatos.

Pop into the preheated oven for one hour; remove and sprinkle with cheese. Place back in the oven for an additional 5 to 10 minutes. 

I served mine with a green salad (not pictured; will do better next time) and corn on the cob. 

Served 2 adults and 2 children

***before you scoff at me posting a meatloaf recipe as my first example of the thrilling skill I display in the kitchen, try it out. It’s tasty and delicious according to the Spawn.

Leave a Reply

